President’s Message

Tryggve Nevéus, MD
ICCS President

Dear ICCS member

I write to you sitting, quite bored, in Frankfurt airport. I am on my way home from the ICCS course in Buenos Aires, Argentina, and I am already longing to be back in the land of Tango, Malbec, soccer and psychoanalysis. Thanks to the hard efforts of, among others, local organiser dr Cristian Sager, Board member Dr Eliane Fonseca and the Sociedad Argentina de Pediatría, the course was a huge success. The room was always full, the discussions were lively and the atmosphere was friendly. We think that we managed to spread the word and have a positive impact on children in all of southern South America.

In conjunction with the course two sets of guideline documents were finalised. First, ICCS-endorsed enuresis guidelines adapted to the Argentinian situation and secondly, Spanish translations of the ICCS position documents on mono- and nonomonosymptomatic enuresis. We will make the latter documents available to the members via the website and also start working on translations into other global languages.

The course in Lisbon, Portugal, is approaching fast. The date is set at May 29-30 and local organisers will be Drs Fatima Alves and Aline Vaz da Silva of Dona Estefania Hospital in collaboration with the ICCS board and our indefatigable Eliane Fonseca. The course will be good and the city is lovely (as well as the vinho verde).

Thanks to Board Member Stephen Yang of Taiwan, there will most likely be an ICCS collaborative course on bladder/bowel dysfunction, urinary tract infections and vesico-ureteral reflux in Jakarta, Indonesia, in August 1-4. This will be the first time your Society reaches this part of the world. I am so sad I cannot join.

You certainly all know about this year’s grand ICCS event, the conference in Rome on September 27-29. Abstract submission has been fine and is closing now as we speak. Please make sure to join us in the city that was once the metropolis of the western world and whose art, archeology and culinary delights will take your breath away. The organising team is led by our Educational Chairman prof Mario de Gennaro and the full ICCS Board. We will very soon dive into the abstracts and chose the best ones for presentation at the scientific sessions.

In conjunction with the Rome conference we will hold an ICCS General Assembly, to which you are more than welcome. These sessions are usually informative, friendly and short. There will be three Board vacancies, namely those of myself, Stephen Yang and Anka Nieuwhof Leppink whose first (of maximum two) mandate periods are completed. All three of us are prepared to sit one more mandate period and will be nominated by the Board to do so. This, however, does not preclude that the membership at large nominates other people, as long as the procedures described in the bylaws (available at the website) are followed. All members will receive a separate invitation to the general assembly, so stay tuned.

As I told you in my latest message the e-learning course is finally up and running. Thanks to collaboration with the Continence Foundation of Australia the technicalities and logistic issues have been managed and new applicants can be admitted. The course is comprehensive, pedagogic and user-friendly and will teach you all you need to know about the pediatric lower urinary tract and its disturbances. The curriculum of the course was provided by the ICCS through myself, Mario de Gennaro and Janet Chase. You will find the links to the course via the e-learning menu on the iccs homepage.

I also wish to remind you that the 2019 annual ICCS conference will be held in Gdansk, Poland, and our local organisers will be the experienced ICCS Regional Represen­tative for Central Europe Michal Maternik and Professor Rafal Chrzan. Last time the ICCS was in this magnificent city was in 2010, and the experience was reassuring. The dates will most probably be September 12-14. Put a big mark in your calendar!

In 2020 the ICCS conference will be held in Dubai, UAE.

Next time you hear from me will be in August. Until then, please feel free to contact us if you have any questions or suggestions. But I will be difficult to reach in July, since I will be in the family cottage without internet access (nice).


Best regards


Tryggve Nevéus MD PhD

President, International Children’s Continence Society

Associate Professor, Consultant in Paediatric Nephrology

Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden